Domino #1 Killer Instinct Part 1 Lottery Comic Book Review

  • Volume 3
  • Released: April 11, 2018

Publisher: Marvel

  • Writer: Gail Simone
  • Artist: David Baldeon
  • Color Artist: Jesus Aburtov
  • Letterer: VC’s Clayton Cowles
Domino 1

With the advent of the movie Deadpool 2 and its success in the theaters, it has given much needed notoriety to the often unknown and underrated character named Domino. This current release of Domino #1 is the third volume for the lucky comic book heroine in twenty-one years, as Domino first appeared in a solo comic book back in 1997. Friends and Seinfeld where the sitcoms of the day and much has changed since then.

Domino 1.2

Writer Gail Simone and artist David Baldeon carry the torch in this new comic book series to great effect. The dark humor and animated artwork take the solo Domino down memory lane as she is reintroduced to new readers. Being her third installment of a solo comic, Domino is definitely not alone. Readers are treated to the quirky and often dysfunctional relationship she has with fellow X-Force members like Deadpool and the X-Men member Colossus.

Domino 1.3

Throughout the comic book, the theme is made clear that even with her mutant powers of luck, Domino is a multifaceted character who struggles with her past, and aspects of being both a superhero and a mercenary, with its impact on her personal life. The narration showcases Domino’s love-hate relationship with her mutant powers and the toll it takes on her.

Domino 1.4

In spite of the lack of control that Domino has over her past and mutant powers, she faces off against a cast of goofy villains, that ends in a cliff hanger. No, Domino is not fighting against a supervillain like Thanos, or fending off a global invasion from beyond the stars and that suits the slapstick nature of this comic book perfectly.

The Verdict:
Domino #1 Killer Instinct Part 1 Comic Book Review

Back again in a comic book of her own, Domino #1 doesn’t disappoint. This third volume of Marvel’s most lucky character is off to a great start and will appeal to fans of X-Force and X-Men alike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *